top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTahreen Dewan

6 Tips for Solo Travel Newbies

People often ask me how I manage to travel on my own. Don't you get bored? Aren't you scared? How did you get started? So here's some advice for people who have never travelled solo.


Get comfortable being alone

I'm always surprised when people tell me they have never or rarely done things on their own. This includes eating alone, walking or trying out activities. For some, they feel embarrassed about what total strangers think of them. Others, say they get bored or frustrated when they're left alone with their own thoughts.


I do understand those feelings and anxieties, I used to feel like that too. Especially when you're young, you care how people perceive you. Once I started doing more things alone, I realised people weren't watching me and they really didn't care. And anyway, only a total loser would be watching and judging a complete stranger for enjoying the simple things in life like eating out! Being able to eat or explore alone is the first step to getting out of your comfort zone.


Start off small

If you're anxious about travelling alone maybe start with a trip to another city in your own country or a short trip to a country that's close in distance and/or culture. This way you'll build some confidence in staying alone and getting around without having to worry. Also knowing that you're a short way from home will help you feel more confident. My first proper solo trip was to India for a month at 23yrs, which in some ways was like throwing myself in the deep end. By day 3 I was sobbing and considering flying home. As challenging as India can be, for a young solo female traveller, I had been to India once before, and it was somewhat close in culture to Bangladesh where I'd visited many times. Looking back, I also know that I had started off small as I'd done things on my own prior to that, including flying to Switzerland at 16yrs and Bangladesh at 18 and 20yrs on my own.


Stay in hostels

I can't stress this enough. Booking a good hostel is essential to a good experience. Solo travel doesn't mean solitude. Unless of course you're going on a silent retreat. Hostels are a great place to meet other people who are also looking to do the same, especially other solo travellers. I've made many friends that way. It's quite easy to find people to go out with and it's nice to chat to new people when you're resting after a long day of exploring. I've met a lot of different kinds of people in hostels, from short term BFFs to weirdos. You might think that hostels are infested with creeps but in my experience I've found a lot more great people who I wished to take back home with me.


You'll also find that hostel staff are so much friendlier and helpful. They'll give you advice on places to go, how to stay safe and can even book you onto day excursions. Some hostels are better than 3 or 4 star hotels in terms of amenities, cleanliness and access to beaches, town centre, landmarks etc. Some hostels have pools, rooftop terraces, and on site bars. Make sure to check the reviews and ratings of hostels; I usually go for hostels with scores above 8. If you're not comfortable sharing a room, a lot of hostels have private rooms that can be booked for a higher cost. Though, it's a lot easier to make friends when you share a room (or bunk). I often mix my accommodation styles e.g staying in a hotel at the beginning or end to get some rest and give myself a treat. I'd recommend doing this as you get the best out of both.


Learn to communicate

This doesn't just mean knowing multiple languages but using your hands, sounds, face, body and of course google translate or a dictionary. If you speak English, you'll have an advantage as most places you travel to will have people who can speak or understand some English. Spanish and French are also good languages to know even if it's basic vocabulary. It always helps to learn a few words and phrases in the local language. It might help you break the ice and can also gain you some praise. (Unless you're in France where they don't seem to like people butchering their language!) Make sure you're open to communicating with people in whatever way you can. There was one time, my battery died and I needed it to find my way to the hotel. I didn't even have the address written down so I couldn't get directions or get a taxi. (Tip: make sure you have important info on paper as well as your phone). I went into an empty restaurant and asked the cleaner if I could charge my phone. I didn't know enough Spanish to be able to say this, so I took out my phone and showed her what I meant.


Don't be afraid to ask for help

This is simple and self explanatory but really, it's important that you're not afraid to ask for help when you're in a pickle. A lot of people's apprehension about going abroad is that they'll look stupid if they get lost or don't know how things work. Are you going to let that stop you seeing how amazing the world is? I'll be honest, not only do I ask questions but some of my behaviour has been down right odd or even risky. I'm sure there were a few people who laughed or thought I was crazy. I simply do not care. I'm a woman who has already lived quite a rich life, so who's laughing now?


Fake it until you make it!

As with everything in life, confidence is key. In some situations, it's essential to come across confident so you aren't approached or targeted as a tourist. My navigation skills are atrocious but I look straight ahead and walk with confidence. If people ask me if I'm lost and I don't feel like I can trust them, then I politely keep going. I try not to act worried or helpless so as to not attract the wrong kind of attention. The beauty of travelling on your own is you get to decide who you want to be and what you want to do. You get to be a version of yourself outside of the roles you take on at home, at work, around your friends. People you meet won't necessarily know you're nervous or feeling lost. Project confidence to stay safe and get the best out of your trip.


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page